Board/Parent Council

The Cherry Preschool Board was established in January of 1992 when a group of parents found themselves in need of a quality preschool embodying a warm, nurturing, developmental, nonsectarian, multicultural approach  to early childhood education.  Cherry Preschool grew from these parents’ dream.

A not-for-profit corporation owns the preschool as well as the building in which it is housed at 1418 Lake Street, Evanston.  A board, comprised of parents, staff and community members, is responsible for the overall operation and policies of the preschool.  Responsibility for the day-to-day operations of the school, including staffing, rests with the Executive Director.

Parents are welcome and encouraged to contact board members with ideas and concerns.  The board meets on a monthly basis (usually the third Monday of each month); dates and times of board meetings are listed in the school’s monthly calendars.

Executive Director Debbie Boileve
Assistant Director Maggie Hessler
Acting President Katie Shapiro
Acting Vice President Elizabeth McGuiness
Development Adrian Camhi
Treasurer Sarah Weidaw
Treasurer-Elect Evan Howell
Treasurer-Emeritus Kyle Blomquist
Secretary Kristan Kenney
Parent Council Chair Anna Lebron
Facility Chair  
Teacher Representative Sarah Schoonyoung
Parent Council Chair Ana Lebron Moreno

The Cherry Preschool Parent Council supports the school through active volunteerism. This is done through specific Council member job descriptions. The Parent Council meets 3 times per year with special meetings called as needed.

Parent Council Chair Ana Lebron Moreno
School Community Chair Megan Ephraim
School Community Chair Catrina Lawton
Staff Appreciation Kerry Reeg
Room Parent Chair Allie Baugher